RoboEagles Win FIRST Tech Motivate Award

RoboEagles Win FIRST Tech Motivate Award

Please help us congratulate our RoboEagles on winning the FIRST Tech Motivate Award and advancing to the FIRST South Carolina State Championship. FIRST is the World’s Leading Youth-Serving Nonprofit advancing STEM Education and inspiring young people to be science and technology leaders and innovators. It engages them in exciting mentor-based programs that build science, engineering, and technology skills, encourage innovation , fosterwell-rounded life capabilities, self-confidence, communication, and leadership.

The RoboEagles have competed in the FIRST Tech Challenge for four seasons with 31 official events. The team was established in 2013 (and began competing) in 2019. The team is not considered a rookie team based on its inception date, but due to the unique dynamics at MMA, every season we’re top-heavy with rookie members. It’s challenging with rewarding results!

What we love about FIRST is it allows participants multiple ways to be successful in an event. Students create a robot that can meet specific game requirements while maintaining a well-documented engineering notebook/portfolio and providing outreach in the community to promote STEM and FIRST. The RoboEagles hosted multiple outreach events this season and participated as camp leaders with our Everyday STEM summer camp. The students learned about “follow-through” and its importance for the teams’ success. We have learned multiple soft and hard skills. I’m excited to see what’s next for our Robotics team.

Special thanks and appreciation to our invaluable Mentors Sally-Ann Archie, TSgt. White, Ebony Johnson, and Verna Faucette for their tireless support.

Congratulations to the following RoboEagles!

  • Maria Vazquez Escalante:
  • Dontez McNeil
  • Keagan Johnson
  • Miquel Sanchez Vasquez
  • Maurice Isadore
  • Heidy Lopez Ginez
  • Melina Lopez Ginez
  • Eli Lizcano
  • Shamar Gaither
  • Christopher Lopez Pena
  • Keily Montero Ferandez

They are more than Robots!

Special thank you to Technical Sergeant Carla Ferrette-Clark shoring this amazing story. 

Recent Posts